Musik // Music – Amy Macdonald

The English version is below the German one.

Seit einigen Jahren habe ich die CD „This is the Life“ von Amy Macdonald. Ich besitze nicht sehr viele CDs und noch weniger davon höre ich auch immer noch. Aber diese schon. Ich mochte die Lieder schon immer gerne. Zunächst nur wie sie klangen, dann auch vom Text her. Besonders in letzter Zeit ist mir aufgefallen, wie toll ich die Texte eigentlich finde und wie sehr ich mich selbst darin wiederfinde. Deshalb jetzt hier eine Vorstellung der Lieder. :)

For several years now I own the album „This is the Life“ by Amy Macdonald. I don’t own very many albums and even less of them I still listen to. But for this one I do. I really liked the songs scince the first time I heard them. Firstly it was just about how they sounded, then also because of the lyrics. Expecially in the last days I noticed, how great  I think these lyrics are and how much I can find myself in these words. Therefore here’s a presentation of the songs. :)

Meine momentanen vier Lieblingslieder des Albums mit jeweils dem Teil des Textes, den ich besonders gut finde:

My four favorite songs (for now) on the album, together with the part of the lyrics I like the most:

Youth Of Today:


(Quelle: YouTubeChannel „nydaa“, letzter Zugriff: 27.11.15, 21:00 Uhr)

„[…] And maybe if you had a true point of view
I would listen to you
But it’s just your one sided feelings
They keep getting in my way
And you don’t know a single thing about the youth of today
Stating your opinion making it ring in my head all day

And you say,
„My children weren’t the same“
„My children’s children they’re the ones to blame“
And you say,
„In my day we were better behaved“
But it’s not your day no more…

And we are the youth of today
Change our hair in every way
And we are the youth of today
We’ll say what we wanna say
And we are the youth of today
Don’t care what you have to say at all

[…]

And we are the youth of today
Change our hair in every way
And we are the youth of today
We’ll say what we wanna say
And we are the youth of today
Don’t care what you have to say at all […]“

Run:


(Quelle: YouTubeChannel „johnpiiiii“, letzter Zugriff: 27.11.15, 21:04 Uhr)

„Will you tell me when the lights are fading
Cos I can’t see, I can’t see no more
Will you tell me when the song stops playing
Cos I can’t hear, I can’t hear no more

She said I don’t know what you’re living for
She said I don’t know what you’re living for at all
He said I don’t know what you’re living for
He said I don’t know what you’re living for at all

But I will run until my feet no longer run no more
And I will kiss until my lips no longer feel no more
And I will love until my heart it aches
And I will love until my heart it breaks
And I will love until there’s nothing more to live for […]“

L.A.


(Quelle: YouTubeChannel „Fench RIOUAL“, letzter Zugriff: 27.11.15, 21:08 Uhr)

„[…] I’m always told to be the dreamer kind
Wake up one morning and your dreams are life
Never let them bring me down
Never let them tear me down
I always thought that I would follow you
Every place and everything you do
But I’m happy to be by myself
I don’t need no-one else […]“

Footballer’s Wife


(Quelle: YouTubeChannel „khjgirl“, letzter Zugriff: 27.11.15, 21:10 Uhr)

„Oh, Mr James Dean, he don’t
belong to anything.
Oh he left before they could get him,
With their ways, their wicked ways.
Oh Marilyn Monroe, where did you go?
I didn’t hear all your stories
I didn’t see all your glory.

But the footballer’s wife tells her troubles and strife
I just don’t care in the end who is she to pretend
That she’s one of them
I don’t think so.
And the girl from that show
yes the one we all know
she thinks she’s some kinda star, yes you know who you are.
I don’t think so. I don’t think so.

Oh ginger Rogers, Fred Astaire
Won’t you dance for me cos I just don’t care
What’s going on today, I think there’s something more,
something more.
And I’m gone with the wind like they were before.
But I’m believing myself I think there’s something more
There must be something more, I think there’s something more,
something more. […]“

Und dann natürlich noch die anderen…

Mr Rock & Roll:


(Quelle: YouTubeChannel: „AmyMacdonaldVEVO“, letzter Zugriff: 27.11.15, 21:16 Uhr)

„[…] Mrs. Black and White
She’s never seen a shade of gray
Always something on her mind
Every single day
But now she’s lost her way
And where does she go from here?

Mr. Multicultural
Sees all that one could see
He’s living proof of someone
Very different to me
But now he wants to be free
Free so he can see

And they’ll meet one day far away
And say, „I wish I was something more“
And they’ll meet one day far away
And say, „I wish I knew you, I wish I knew you before“

He’ll say, „I wish I knew you
I wish I met you when time was still on my side“
She’ll say, „I wish I knew you
I wish I loved you before I was his bride“

And so they must depart
Too many more broken hearts
But I’ve seen that all before
In TV, books and film and more
And there’s a happy ending
Every single day […]“

This is the Life


(Quelle: YouTubeChannel „AmyMacdonaldVEVO“, letzter Zugriff: 27.11.15, 21:18 Uhr)

„[…] And you singing the song thinking this is the life
And you wake up in the morning and your head feels twice the size
where you gonna go, where you gonna go, where you gonna sleep tonight? […]“

Poison Prince


(Quelle: YouTubeChannel „AmyMacdonaldVEVO“, letzter Zugriff: 27.11.15, 21:20 Uhr)

„[…] And he’s looking at me now
But what he can’t see
Is that I’m looking through his eyes
So many lies behind his eyes

[…] Some kinda poison prince with your eyes in a daze
Some kinda poison prince your life is like a maze
And what we all want and what we all crave
Is an upbeat song so we can dance the night away

Oh who said life was easy?
Who said life was fair?
Who said nobody gives a damn and nobody even cares?

The way you’re acting now like you left that all behind
You’ve given up
You’ve given in
Another sucker of that slime […]“

Let’s Start A Band


(Quelle: YouTubeChannel „Baloise session“, letzter Zugriff: 27.11.15, 21:25 Uhr)

„[…] I don’t know anymore, if that feeling is past will it last
Oh, how can you be sure?

And how do I know if you’re feeling the same as me?
And how do I know if that’s the only place you want to be? […]

Give me a festival and I’ll be your Glastonbury star
The lights are shining everyone knows who you are
Singing songs about dreams about hopes about schemes
Ooooh, they just came true

And how do I know if you’re feeling the same as me?
And how do I know if that’s the only place you want to be? […]“

Barrowland Ballroom


(Quelle: YouTubeChannel „Stevie101“, letzter Zugriff: 27.11.15, 21:29 Uhr)

„[…] And when the night turns to day and all the people go away
It’s not the same, tell me who’s to blame?
And when the stars shine so bright on the cold December night
I wish that I was on the stage […]“

A Wish For Something More


(Quelle: YouTubeChannel „-xLongLiveLove-x“, letzter Zugriff: 27.11.15, 21:33 Uhr)

„[…] I wish for long lingering glances
Fairytale romances every single day
And you look at me and say
I’m your best friend every day
But I wish for something, wish for something more
Oh, I love you like a friend but let’s not pretend
How I wish for something, wish for something more

Oh the grass is so green
But I can’t see anything, past your eyes
I’m fixated on your smile
Your cherry lips make life worthwhile
I’m thinking these things
What I’m trying to say is
Life gets in my way
Every single day […]

Now the sun is fading and the rain is coming down
And I’m looking at your face but you’re looking at the ground
I see diamonds in your dreams I see pearls around your neck
I see everything that’s beautiful, everything that’s beautiful […]“

Ein Kommentar zu “Musik // Music – Amy Macdonald

  1. Pingback: 31 Tage – 31 Songs – Tag 5 – Ein Song mit verschiedenen Bedeutungen | An's Bücher, Serien & Filme

Kommentar verfassen

